College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, March 21, 2005

Michigan wins CCHA championship

It was a rematch of last year's Super Six championship game, only this time, Michigan emerged with the Mason Cup.

The Wolverines (30-7-3) beat Ohio State, 4-2, Saturday night at Joe Louis Arena to claim their third CCHA tournament championship in four years.

"It was a good win for us," Michigan head coach Red Berenson said. "But they know we're not done yet."

Milan Gajic scored two power-play goals and Jeff Tambellini scored the game-winner 5:27 into the third period.

"I guess it was a typical Tambellini goal," laughed Tambellini, the tournament MVP. "I missed the open net and then threw it at the net from the corner and it went in. You need goals like that this time of year and I'll take it."

Jason Ryznar added an empty-netter to close out the scoring. Al Montoya stopped 27 shots for U-M and Dave Caruso made 34 saves for the Buckeyes.

Tom Fritsche and captain J.B. Bittner scored for OSU.

In the consolation game earlier in the day, Alaska-Fairbanks upended Michigan State, 3-2. Tommy Goebel and Adam Nightingale scored for MSU (20-17-4) and goalie Dominic Vicari finished with 23 saves.

"It was a frustrating game," said MSU head coach Rick Comley. "(Fairbanks goalie Wylie) Rogers was playing outstanding and Dom (Vicari) was matching him save-for-save. We just couldn't put the puck in the net at critical times."

Michigan gains an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament and will play Wisconsin in the Midwest Regional this Friday at Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids. Colorado College plays Colgate in the other game. Ohio State also qualified for the tournament and will play Cornell in a West Regional game Friday night.

F - Ryan McLeod, Alaska-Fairbanks
F - Jeff Tambellini, Michigan
F - Tom Fritsche, Ohio State
D - Sean Collins, Ohio State
D - Brandon Rogers, Michigan
G - Wylie Rogers, Alaska-Fairbanks

MVP - Jeff Tambellini, Michigan

No comments: