College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, March 05, 2007

Two Broncos named to CCHA rookie squad

The University of Notre Dame had three freshmen named to the 2006-07 Central Collegiate Hockey Association All-Rookie Team, while Western Michigan University had two players chosen and the University of Nebraska-Omaha had one.

The Irish become just the third CCHA team to have three or more players make the all-rookie team since freshmen were first recognized in 1989-90. Michigan has done it five times with a record four honorees in 1993-94 and Michigan State accomplished it once in 1989-90.

Determined by a vote of the conference head coaches, the team will be honored at the 2007 CCHA Awards on Thursday, March 15, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.

2006-07 CCHA All-Rookie Team
Kevin Deeth, Forward, University of Notre Dame
Mark Letestu, Forward, Western Michigan University
Ryan Thang, Forward, University of Notre Dame
Eddie Del Grosso, Defenseman, University of Nebraska-Omaha
Kyle Lawson, Defenseman, University of Notre Dame (New Hudson)
Riley Gill, Goaltender, Western Michigan University

Mark Letestu, a 22-year-old forward from Elk Point, Alta., and Western Michigan University, led the CCHA in rookie scoring and tied for fifth among all skaters with 34 points in 28 conference games, including a tie for second place in goals with 18. Letestu also finished with five shorthanded markers, which led the nation.

Kyle Lawson, a 20-year-old defenseman from New Hudson and the University of Notre Dame, tied for 13th in conference scoring (3-11-14) among defensemen, despite missing two games while representing the U.S. in the World Junior Championships. Lawson, a Carolina Hurricanes draft pick, led the Irish defensemen with a plus-14 rating in conference games.

Riley Gill, a 22-year-old goaltender from Northfield, Minn., and Western Michigan University, posted a 10-5-1 record in conference games and placed third among netminders with a .656 winning percentage. Gill’s .908 save percentage placed him fifth in the conference.

Honorable mentions
Forward— Dion Knelsen, UA; Jarod Palmer, MIA; Nathan Perkovich, LSSU. Defense— Marc Bernier, UNO; Tyler Ludwig, WMU; Kyle Page (Wixom), BGSU; Michael Ratchuk, MSU; Chris Summers, UM. Goaltender— Jeremie Dupont, UNO; Joseph Palmer, OSU; Pat Inglis, LSSU

No comments: