College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Friday, March 16, 2007

WMU’s Letestu takes CCHA Rookie of the Year

Western Michigan forward Mark Letestu was selected the CCHA Rookie of the Year last night at the annual CCHA Awards banquet at Detroit’s historic Fox Theatre.

After finishing second in the nation in the regular season in points-per-game for rookies with a 1.24 average over 34 games, Letestu (pictured) also ranked first in the CCHA in shorthanded goals with five, fourth in the league with 21 goals and seventh in scoring at 42 points.

The seventh-annual Mike and Marian Illitch Humanitarian award was presented to Michigan senior defenseman Tim Cook. Involved in several Ann Arbor-area programs including the Big Brother program and From the Heart Council for Mott Children’s Hospital visits, Cook has been a regular at the hospital the last four years and has taken the lead on getting the Wolverines more involved each year. The Illitch Humanitarian is given to the league’s top citizen based on his contributions off the ice, as well as on, to his team, his program, his school and his community.

Michigan Wolverine teammates won both defenseman awards with senior Matt Hunwick earning the Best Defensive Defenseman Award and sophomore Jack Johnson receiving the Best Offensive Defenseman Award. Hunwick was a force on the defensive side of the nation’s top offensive team and finished tied for fourth in the CCHA in plus/minus with a +18. Johnson finished the regular season tied for first in the nation in points-per-game for a defenseman averaging one point-per-game. Johnson was named Defenseman of the Week three times while Hunwick picked up the same honor once this season.

Other awards:
Player of the Year - Notre Dame goalie David Brown
Coach of the Year - Notre Dame's Jeff Jackson
Terry Flanagan Memorial Award - Ohio State forward Tom Fritsche
Best Defensive Forward - Miami's Nathan Davis
Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Nebraska-Omaha's Michael Eickman

No comments: