College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, April 16, 2007

Broncos name 2006-07 award winners Saturday

Western Michigan handed out nine awards to members of the Bronco hockey team during the program's annual postseason banquet held at the Fetzer Center on April 14.

Paul Szczechura walked away with the Rob Hodge Most Valuable Player Award.
Szczechura, an alternate for the Pontiac Frozen Four Skills Challenge led the team in assists for the second-consecutive season with 26. He ranked second on the team in goals (19), points (45) and power-play goals (seven). This is the third annual team award of Szczechura's career. He won the Catherine Lawson Sportsmanship Award in 2004-05 and was the Suzanne Klop Rookie of the Year in 2003-04.

For the fourth-straight year, Ryan Mahrle was named the Neil Smith Most Valuable Defensman. Mahrle, a Lowe's Senior CLASS Award finalist and All-America team member, led all WMU defenders with 17 points (2-15) and blocked 25 shots during his senior campaign.

Mark Letestu received three awards on Saturday night. He was named the Suzanne Klop Rookie of the Year and was awarded the Vic Vanderberg Leading Scorer honor for pacing the Broncos with 46 points (24-22) in 2006-07. Letestu's point total is the most by a Bronco since Brent Walton amassed 50 points in 2004-05. Letestu also won the Bill Saunders Plus/Minus Award for leading the team in the category with a plus/minus of +13.

Jason Moul, recently awarded the Lowell Crow Marketing Scholar Athlete Award by the Haworth Business School, was named the Catherine Lawson Sportsmanship Award winner. Moul skated in all but one of WMU's 37 games this season and amassed eight points on three goals and five assists.

For the first time in three seasons, the Ed Edwards Most Improved Player Award was not shared between two Broncos. Goalie Trevor Heffernan (pictured) was this year's recipient.

Dave Krisky, for his excellence in the classroom over the past year, earned the Peter Ellis Academic Achievement Award for the 2006-07 campaign. On the ice, the sophomore left wing saw action in 18 contests, compiling four points (1-3).

Matt Clackson was the recipient of the evening's final award. The sophomore right wing earned the KOHA Grinder Award.

The evening honored these student-athletes and the entire Bronco hockey team for its achievements during the 2006-07 season such as hosting a CCHA first round series for the first time since 2002, defeating six nationally ranked opponents, including a series sweep over eventual national champion Michigan State.

No comments: