College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Thursday, April 19, 2007

Helminen the big award winner for MTU

Senior Lars Helminen, who was his team’s highest-scoring blueliner in each of the past three seasons, was honored with the prestigious Merv Youngs Award as the most valuable player of the Michigan Tech hockey team Tuesday evening at the annual Blueline Club Awards Banquet. The event was held in the Memorial Union Ballroom on the MTU campus.

Helminen provided two goals and 19 assists in his final collegiate campaign, including a team-best nine points on the power play. The co-captain also gained the Gitzen-Loutit Memorial Award as Tech’s outstanding defenseman for the third consecutive year. Helminen capped his stellar career in 10th place all-time among Husky blueliners in scoring with 14 goals and 68 assists in 153 career games.

Senior Tyler Skworchinski earned the John MacInnes Slide Rule Award for scholastic achievement for the third time in as many years. Skworchinski, who owns a 3.74 cumulative grade-point average in business administration with a concentration in finance, tallied a career-high 15 points, including eight goals and seven assists in his final collegiate season.

The recipient of the Elov Seger Memorial Award as the team’s most improved player was Peter Rouleau. He went from scoring two points in 16 games a year ago, to 30 points in 40 games this season. As a result of his scoring totals of seven goals and 23 assists, Rouleau was given the Gary Crosby Memorial Award as the team’s leading point getter. He also provided a team-best four game-winning goals in his junior campaign.

Mike Batovanja earned the Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award after being named one of six finalists for the Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award. Batovanja racked up two goals and three assists in his senior year and led the Huskies in hits, despite missing three games due to numerous injuries. He posted 13 goals and 31 assists in 146 career games between his time at Findlay (2003-04) and Michigan Tech (2004-07). Batovanja was also presented with the Wildcat Slayer Award as a result of his play against rival Northern Michigan.

The Norbert Matovich Award as the team’s outstanding freshman was presented to Ryan Bunger, who chipped in five goals and five assists in 29 contests.

Combining scholastic and athletic achievement, junior winger Tyler Shelast gained the George McCarthy Performance Award. The owner of a team-high 15 goals, including four power-play markers, Shelast registered a career-best 24 points in 2006-07. He holds a 3.23 cumulative grade point average in business administration.

Michigan Tech also honored its trio of seniors at the event, including Batovanja, Helminen and Skworchinski. Helminen was unable to attend Tuesday’s banquet as he is currently playing for the Idaho Steelheads of the ECHL.

Jimmy Kerr was named the captain for the 2007-08 season. Shelast and John Schwarz will serve as the assistant captains.

No comments: