College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Sunday, April 15, 2007

U-M names '07-08 captain, doles out awards

The University of Michigan presented its annual awards to six players while also announcing its captains for the 2007-08 season at the annual Dekers Blue Line Club Banquet Saturday at the Ann Arbor Sheraton.

Head coach Red Berenson picked rising senior forward Kevin Porter (pictured) as the captain for the 2007-08 season. Rising junior forwards Andrew Cogliano and Tim Miller will each wear an "A" as alternate captains.

Senior forward and alternate captain T.J. Hensick was awarded the Hal Downes Trophy as U-M's most valuable player. Hensick led the Wolverines -- as well as the nation -- in points (69) and assists (46). His 23 goals were third-best on the team. Hensick also collected the Doc Losh Trophy, which goes to U-M's leading scorer, for the third time of his career (2003-04, 2005-06). He was a Hobey Baker finalist, an American Hockey Coaches Association All-America West first team honoree and an All-CCHA first team selection.

Senior defenseman and captain Matt Hunwick was the winner of the Vic Heyliger Trophy as U-M's most outstanding defenseman for a record-tying third consecutive season. The award was voted on by his teammates. Hunwick had six goals and a career-high 21 assists this season. His +24 plus/minus rating also set a career best. Hunwick was named to the AHCA All-America West second team and the All-CCHA first team. He was also tabbed the CCHA's Best Defensive Defenseman.

The Alton D. Simms Trophy for the most improved player as determined by the team was awarded to senior forward David Rohlfs, who set career highs in goals (17), assists (17), points (34) and plus/minus (+33) while skating on U-M's top line this season. His 34 points in 2006-07 nearly matched his point total from his first three seasons combined (35). Rohlfs also received the Joseph A. Barss Award, which goes to the best team player as determined by the coaching staff.

Defenseman Chris Summers garnered the Dekers Club Award as the "most colorful rookie" per the Dekers Club membership. Summers played in each of U-M's 41 games - the first 30 as a defenseman and the last 11 at left wing. He tallied six goals and eight assists on the season.

The Howard Colby Award for sportsmanship went to Porter. The junior accumulated just 16 penalty minutes this season, third fewest among U-M's regulars. Porter was the team's second-leading scorer with a 24-34-58 scoring line. His strong two-way play resulted in a +23 rating.

Senior defenseman Tim Cook was the recipient of the Carl Isaacson Award for record-tying third straight year. The honor is given to the player who exhibits the highest scholastic average as well as athletic ability. Cook is a a history major. A defensive defenseman, Cook played 16 of his 36 games as a forward this season. He set career highs in assists (4) and points (4). Cook was U-M's representative on the CCHA Scholar-Athlete Team and he earned the CCHA's Ilitch Humanitarian Award.

The Wolverines went 26-14-1 in 2006-07 and qualified for their 17th consecutive NCAA Tournament. U-M graduates forwards Hensick, Rohlfs and Morgan Ward, defensemen Hunwick, Cook and alternate captain Jason Dest and goalie Mike Mayhew.

Seventeen members of the 2006-07 team are eligible to return in 2007-08.

No comments: