College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Thursday, May 03, 2007

Finlandia men and women on all-academic teams

Six players from the Finlandia University women's hockey team have received all-academic honors from the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association.

Named to the 2007 All-NCHA Academic Team are senior defenseman Bree Cote, junior goalie Corinne Czekaj, senior forward Catherine Fisher, junior defenseman Samantha Fisher, junior defenseman Ashley Leitch and senior forward Jana Riutta.

Of the 13 student-athletes named to the all-academic team, the Lions led the way with six.

Players named to the all-academic team have a cumulative 3.00 or higher grade-point average, have completed at least 50 semester or 75 quarter hours, and are recommended by their head coach.

“This is great example of the work ethic our team has, both on and off the ice. They have wonderful discipline and the maturity to be positive examples for their teammates,” said Chris Salani, Finlandia athletic director and head women's hockey coach.

The men's MCHA All-Academic Team members:
Lukas Alberer, Jr.
Robert DeVaun, So.
CJ Fisher, Jr.
Travis Hanson, Jr.
Joe Junttila, Sr.
Kevin Korte, So.
Matt Lindgren, Jr.
Marc Marcotte, So.
Blake Miller, So.
Josh Paquette, Jr.
Mike Parks, Jr.
Ryan Sullivan, So.

No comments: