College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Thursday, April 03, 2008

Fetter wins national coaching honor

Compiled by MiCHO Staff

Wayne State head coach Jim Fetter has been named the 2007-2008 American Hockey Coaches Association Division I Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

The Coach of the Year Award winner is chosen by members of the AHCA and will receive the award at the annual AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, April 26.

Fetter was selected as one of seven finalists for the national award. To be a finalist, each candidate must have either been voted Coach of the Year in their respective conference or lead their team to the NCAA Frozen Four.

Earlier this year, Fetter garnered College Hockey America Coach of the Year honors for the third straight season after leading the Warriors to a share of their first CHA regular season title with a school record 22 wins before falling 2-1 in overtime to No. 7 Mercyhurst in the 2008 CHA Tournament final. Despite the setback, WSU tied the season series with the Lakers, 2-2-1, snapping a 33-game winless streak.

The Warriors also finished the year ranked 10th in the USA Today/USA American Hockey Magazine national poll for the first in school history and set school records for the longest winning streak (nine games), unbeaten streak (11 games) and fewest losses in a season (nine).

Fetter also was recognized by Hockey Canada earlier in the year when he was named an assistant coach for Team Canada's 2007-2008 Under-18 squad.

No comments: