College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Sunday, April 20, 2008

Perkovich takes Lakers' MVP honors

Compiled by MiCHO Staff

Lake Superior State goal-scoring leader Nathan Perkovich was named the Lakers' Most Valuable Player and Most Valuable Forward at the 26th annual Soo BlueLiners Banquet held Saturday at the Cisler Center.

Perkovich (pictured) is only the second non-goalie to earn the prestigious MVP award during the past seven seasons. He improved upon his totals from a year ago by leading the Lakers in goals scored with 17 and finishing third in points with 25. Through two seasons he has 32-15--47.

He scored a goal in both games of the season-opening Superior Showcase and tallied seven goals through LSSU's first eight games. He overcame a four-game scoring drought and notched five goals in his next six games midway through the season, including a goal in three of four games against Michigan State. Perkovich scored a goal in two of the Lakers' three CCHA playoff games and totaled five points during the three-game series. His 17 goals this season are the most by a Laker since Terry Marchant scored 17 in 1998-99.

Perkovich was ranked 14th in the CCHA in goals scored and eighth in power-play goals with nine.

Other special award winners were sophomore Simon Gysbers (Most Valuable Defenseman), freshman Will Acton (Most Improved Player), freshman Rick Schofield (Outstanding Freshman), senior Jason Blain (Scholar-Athlete and Jim Howie Unsung Hero), senior Dan Eves (Soo BlueLiner Award) and junior Josh Sim (Gay Blade).

The evening was dedicated to seniors Eves, Blain and Justin Gutwald.

Photo courtesy CCHA

No comments: