College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Sunday, April 13, 2008

Tech, Ferris give out hardware

Compiled by MiCHO Staff

Both Michigan Tech and Ferris State handed out their annual awards recently.


Mitch’s Misfits Favorite Husky on the Ice Award -- Peter Rouleau
Blue Line Award -- Bethlan McCullum
John MacInnes Slide Rule Award (Scholastic Achievement) -- Eli Vlaisavljevich
Wildcat Slayer Award -- Jimmy Kerr
Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award -- Mark Malekoff
George McCarthy Performance Award For Athletic & Scholastic Achievement -- Tyler Shelast
Elov Seger Memorial Award (Most Improved Player) -- John Kivisto
Norbert Matovich Memorial Award (Outstanding Freshman) -- Eric Kattelus
Gitzen-Loutit Memorial Award (Outstanding Defenseman) -- Geoff Kinrade
Gary Crosby Memorial Award (Leading Scorer)/Merv Young Award (Most Valuable Player) -- Peter Rouleau


Junior goaltender Mitch O'Keefe was named the recipient of the team's Most Valuable Player Award...Sophomore center-right wing Cody Chupp was presented with the Lloyd Earl Trophy as the team's top points leader and also received the Blue Line Competitive Award...The Steve Banonis Memorial Most Improved Player Award was given to two players this season - junior right wing Justin Lewandowski and sophomore left wing Blair Riley...Zach Redmond, the Bulldogs' top-scoring defenseman this season, received the FSU Rookie of the Year Award...The winner of the Plus/Minus Award was freshman defenseman Scott Wietecha, who generated a team-best plus 16 efficiency rating in 36 2007-08 season appearances...Sophomore center Aaron Lewicki picked up the Scholar-Athlete Award for having the highest grade-point average on the team...Dr. Scott Grindel and Bob Boyce were chosen as the recipients of the FSU Blue Line Club Recognition Award for their numerous contributions to the Bulldog hockey program. Dr. Grindel presently serves as the hockey program's physician while Boyce is the supervisor of Ferris State's off-ice officials and a longtime FSU Blue Line Club member.

No comments: