College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, March 02, 2009

Adrian takes home Harris Cup - again

Compiled by MiCHO Staff

The Adrian Bulldogs made easy work of the Milwaukee School of Engineering on Sunday afternoon, 7-1, and in the process hoisted the Harris Cup as the MCHA postseason tournament winner for the second year in a row.

Adrian (27-1-1) entered the tournament a heavy favorite and did not disappoint in front of the home fans at Arrington Ice Arena.

The first eight minutes were played evenly as both teams did not take too many chances and were feeling each other out on the big stage. Adrian broke into the scoring column at the 12-minute mark of the first period as Adam Krug scored his 22nd goal of the season with assists from Quinn Waller and Eric Miller. That goal really seemed to open the floodgates for the Bulldogs, who scored three more goals over the next 4:28 to end the period up, 4-0.

Brad Houston's 16th goal of the season at 13:09 on a nice pass from Joel Workman made it 2-0. Mike Dahlinger was left alone in front of the net and buried a wrist shot in the top left corner of the net at 14:33 at even strength to make it 3-0. Dahlinger's 15th goal was assisted by Mike Leone and Reed Renaud. Waller added a power-play goal on a 5-on-3 situation at 17:28 for his third goal of the year with assists from Miller and Krug.

Adrian made it 5-0 at the 10:37 mark of the second period as Houston went top shelf for his second goal of the game with an assist from Kyle Watson.

MSOE cut the lead to 5-1 as Matt Leitzan scored his first goal of the season off a rebound at 11:33.

Adrian added two more in the final period as Waller had his first multi-goal game of the year with another power play tally at 1:20 with an assist from Shawn Skelly. Sam Kuzyk ended the scoring at 5:57 of the third for his 11th goal of the year with assists from Dahlinger and Leone.

Adrian had five recipients on the MCHA All-Tournament Team including Krug, Waller, Houston, Miller and goaltender Brad Fogal. Miller was named the tournament MVP for his fine efforts.

Fogal made 22 saves as MSOE actually outshot Adrian, 28-25.

MSOE was 0-for-5 on the power play, while Adrian was 2-for-5.

The MCHA conference does not have an automatic bid into the Division III Tournament, so Adrian will have to wait until next Sunday to learn if they earned an at-large bid to the tournament.


The MCHA announced its postseason awards last Friday night at the annual conference banquet hosted by Adrian College. The Bulldogs swept the major awards as sophomore Shawn Skelly was named Player of the Year and head coach Ron Fogarty was named Coach of the Year.

Skelly followed up Adam Krug, who won Player of the Year honors last season. Skelly had a really remarkable season leading the MCHA with 47 points including 23 goals and 24 assists. Skelly led the MCHA in goals, assists and power play points (26). Skelly also had five game-winning goals in the conference.

Krug was again named to the All-Conference Team along with forward Eric Miller, defensemen Chris Stansik and Quinn Waller and goaltender Brad Fogal.

Krug was second in the league with 33 points including 13 goals and 20 assists. He ranked second in goals, third in assists and tied for third in power-play points (15). Stansik led all MCHA defensemen with 25 points, including seven goals and 18 assists. Waller ranked tied for second in defensemen scoring with 20 points. He had two goals and 18 assists.

Miller ranked third in the conference in scoring with 30 points including 11 goals and 19 assists. Miller tied for third in goals and tied for fourth in assists. He did all of this while missing four conference games. Fogal led goaltenders in all statistical categories. Fogal had a 1.22 goals-against average, a .944 save percentage and went 19-0 in net.

Fogarty was named Coach of the Year for the first time as Adrian went 20-0 during the regular season to set an MCHA record.

The All-Academic team was also announced:
Eric Bailen
Jeremy Cross
Mike Fiorillo
Zach Galia
Bobby Hineman
Rob Hodnicki
Brad Houston
Jeremy Klaver
Adam Krug
Sam Kuzyk
Eric Roman
Chris Stansik
Mike Towns
Quinn Waller
Kyle Watson
Joel Workman

Photo by David Pearcy

No comments: