College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, April 05, 2010

Michigan hands out annual awards

Michigan Press Release

The University of Michigan presented its annual team awards to six players at the annual Dekers Blue Line Club Banquet last Saturday at the Ann Arbor Sheraton.

Junior left wing Carl Hagelin was the most-celebrated Wolverine of the afternoon, earning three honors: Hal Downes Award (MVP), Hazel M. "Doc" Losh Award (Scoring Leader) and the Carl Isaacson Award (Best in Classroom).

Hagelin led the Wolverines in points (50) and assists (31), was second on the roster in goals (19) and plus/minus rating (+20), and had a point in 35 of U-M's 45 games. Hagelin received the Isaacson Award for the second straight year. He has also been U-M's representative on the CCHA Scholar-Athlete Team in each of the last two seasons.

Senior defenseman Steve Kampfer received the Vic Heyliger Award as the team's outstanding defenseman. Kampfer led U-M's defensemen in points (26), assists (23) and plus/minus (+18). He set career highs in goals (3), assists and points this season while playing in all 45 games for the Maize and Blue.

Freshman right wing Chris Brown collected the Dekers Club Award as the team's most colorful rookie. Brown was picked for the CCHA All-Rookie Team in early March and ranked fourth on the team in points (28) and tied for fourth in goals (13). He was U-M's top goal-scoring threat on the power play with seven man-advantage markers. He also had four game-winning goals.

Senior left wing Brian Lebler earned the Joseph E. Barss Award, which is given to the best team player as determined by the coaching staff. Lebler recorded 24 points in 2009-10, bettering his previous high for points by 50 percent. His 14 goals and 10 assists were also single-season career highs.

Junior goaltender Shawn Hunwick picked up the Alton D. Simms Award for the team's Most Improved Player. Hunwick earned the decision in the final 10 games of the season, starting nine times, posting an 8-2-0 record. For the season, he had an 8-3-0 mark, 1.82 goals-against average and .918 save percentage.

Luke Glendening received the Howard Colby Award for sportsmanship as determined by his teammates. A sophomore, Glendening was voted by the team to be an alternate captain early on in the season. He more than doubled his career high for points (21) by posting seven goals and 14 assists. He was +13 and had 39 penalty minutes.

The Ray Helber Deker of the Year Award went to Anita Liberman-Lampear for her efforts to support the Michigan ice hockey program.

Five players will be graduating from Michigan's 2009-10 team: forwards Anthony Ciraulo and Lebler and defensemen Eric Elmblad, Kampfer and captain Chris Summers.

No comments: