College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Thursday, April 01, 2010

NMU, MSU headline MiCHO Awards

MiCHO Press Release

The staff of has announced its annual award winners for the 2009-2010 season.

Winners were chosen from the seven men’s Division I teams – Ferris State University, Lake Superior State University, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Michigan Tech University, Northern Michigan University and Western Michigan University.

Northern Michigan forward and Hobey Baker Award finalist Mark Olver was named the MiCHO Player of the Year after a 49-point output for the Wildcats and was also named to the All-MiCHO First Team. This week, Olver signed with the Colorado Avalanche and was assigned to Colorado’s American Hockey League affiliate, the Lake Erie Monsters.

Michigan State defenseman Torey Krug was named MiCHO Rookie of the Year, while teammate Drew Palmisano earned MiCHO Goaltender of the Year honors.

Northern Michigan claimed two more winners in head coach Walt Kyle (MiCHO Coach of the Year) and Erik Gustafsson (MiCHO Defenseman of the Year). Like Olver, Gustafsson elected to forego his senior season by signing an NHL contract with Philadelphia earlier this week.

Kyle and Gustafsson are repeat winners from last year.

The following is the complete awards listing:

MiCHO Player of the Year – Mark Olver, Northern Michigan
MiCHO Defenseman of the Year – Erik Gustafsson, Northern Michigan
MiCHO Goaltender of the Year – Drew Palmisano, Michigan State
MiCHO Rookie of the Year – Torey Krug, Michigan State
MiCHO Coach of the Year – Walt Kyle, Northern Michigan

All-MiCHO First Team
F – Mark Olver, Northern Michigan
F – Carl Hagelin, Michigan
F – Corey Tropp, Michigan State
D – Erik Gustafsson, Northern Michigan
D – Jeff Petry, Michigan State
G – Drew Palmisano, Michigan State

All-MiCHO Second Team
F – Blair Riley, Ferris State
F – Louie Caporusso, Michigan
F – Ray Kaunisto, Northern Michigan
D – Zach Redmond, Ferris State
D – Steve Kampfer, Michigan
G – Brian Stewart, Northern Michigan

Also receiving votes: D Matt Case, Ferris State; F Greger Hanson, Northern Michigan; G Bryan Hogan, Michigan; G Pat Nagle, Ferris State; F Brett Olson, Michigan Tech; F Rick Schofield, Lake Superior State

MiCHO All-Rookie Team
F – Chris Brown, Michigan
F – Derek Grant, Michigan State
F – Ben Power, Lake Superior State
D – Torey Krug, Michigan State
D – Steven Seigo, Michigan Tech
G – Kevin Genoe, Michigan Tech

Also receiving votes: D Kyle Follmer, Northern Michigan; F Kevin Lynch, Michigan; D Lee Moffie, Michigan; D Zach Trotman, Lake Superior State was started in 2000 and has been a primary source for college hockey fans in the state of Michigan for all the latest news and scores relating to all college teams in the state, including coverage of the state’s lone Division I women’s team at Wayne State University, ACHA teams and Division III teams.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

No arguments here. Nice work everybody. Love the site. First time, long time.