College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Friday, April 23, 2010

Protopapas named Wayne State MVP

Wayne State Press Release

Wayne State announced the recipients of the 2009-10 team awards at the squad's annual season-end banquet, held last Friday night at the McGregor Memorial Conference Center on the WSU campus.

Senior forward Katrina Protopapas (pictured, with WSU head coach Jim Fetter) was voted the team’s Most Valuable Player. She led the Warriors with 13 goals and finished second with 17 points, both career-highs, and ended the season tied for fifth nationally with nine power-play goals, eighth-most in school history.

Also a three-time CHA All-Academic Team selection, Protopapas completed her collegiate career ranked 11th all-time at Wayne State in points (46), tied for sixth in goals (26), fourth in power-play goals (14) and tied for sixth in power-play points (23). She is also tied for sixth in CHA points (21) and fourth in CHA goals (12).

Rookie of the Year honors went to forward Julie Ingratta, who led WSU with 85 shots on goal. She totaled 15 points, tied for ninth-most by a freshman in program history, and nine assists, tied for 10th-most. Ingratta ended the season ranked fifth in points among College Hockey America rookies.

Senior Chelsea Burnett was named Wayne State’s Best Defensive Player. Burnett, who tied for 10th among CHA defensemen with nine points, completed her career as Wayne State's all-time leader in points (62), goals (17), assists (45), CHA points (29), CHA goals (7) and CHA assists (22) by a defenseman. She ranks fifth overall at WSU in points, assists, and power-play goals (9), and is fourth in power-play points (37), tied for 10th in game-winning goals (3) and tied for 12th in game-winning points (7).

As Wayne State’s top scorer in 2009-10, sophomore forward Alyssa Baldin took the Top Gun award. Baldin led the Warriors with 11 assists and 20 points, both career-highs, and matched her career-best with nine goals. She finished with 10 points in 16 conference games and was particularly sharp down the stretch, recording a point in seven of the last eight games.

The award for Most Improved Player was presented to sophomore defenseman Ciara Lee, who saw a marked increase in playing time this season, having received ice time in all 31 games after playing in just 12 contests a year ago. Lee had a plus/minus rating of even or better in 22 games.

Senior defenseman and captain Christine Jefferson received three awards, including the President’s Award for having the highest grade-point average on the squad, aided by two consecutive 4.00 terms. A three-time CHA All-Academic Team honoree, the elementary education major became the second Warrior in program history to be named CHA Student-Athlete of the Year.

Jefferson also received the Warrior Award from her teammates and the Captain’s Award from Fetter.

In addition, seven Warriors were recognized for having scored their first collegiate goal, and sophomore goaltender Brittany Zeches received an award commemorating her first victory Feb. 27 at Robert Morris.

Photo by Jeff Weiss

No comments: