College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Hagelin tops CCHA pre-season team

CCHA Press Release

Five teams are represented on the 2010-11 CCHA Preseason All-Conference Team announced today by the Central Collegiate Hockey Association.

Michigan senior forward Carl Hagelin topped the voting, receiving the maximum of 50 points for a unanimous selection. It is Hagelin’s first appearance on the Preseason All-Conference First Team.

Miami senior forward Andy Miele and Michigan senior forward Louie Caporusso join Hagelin as the other forwards on the First Team. It is Caporusso’s second straight appearance and Miele’s first preseason honor. Ferris State senior defenseman Zach Redmond (pictured) received eight first-team votes, tied for the second-highest total among all players. Junior defenseman Chris Wideman from Miami accompanies Redmond on the blue line as the second defenseman. Last year’s RBC CCHA Player of the Year, Miami junior goaltender Cody Reichard, completes the First Team, tying Redmond with eight first-place votes.

Four players collected three first-place votes on the Preseason All-Conference Second Team. Senior forward Carter Camper of Miami, last season’s CCM CCHA Rookie of the Year sophomore forward Andy Taranto of Alaska, sophomore defenseman Torey Krug of Michigan State and senior defenseman Chad Langlais of Michigan all secured honors on the Second Team. Camper is making his third consecutive appearance on a preseason team. Michigan senior forward Matt Rust takes the final forward spot on the Second Team. Backstopping the Second Team is Ferris State senior goaltender Pat Nagle.

Miami and Michigan lead the Preseason All-Conference Teams, each with four honorees.

Voting was conducted among the 11 head coaches in the CCHA. Coaches could not vote for their own players.

2010-11 CCHA Preseason All-Conference Teams

Forward, Carl Hagelin, SR, Michigan
Forward, Andy Miele, SR, Miami
Forward, Louie Caporusso, SR, Michigan
Defense, Zach Redmond, SR, Ferris State
Defense, Chris Wideman, JR, Miami
Goaltender, Cody Reichard, JR, Miami

Forward, Carter Camper, SR, Miami
Forward, Andy Taranto, SO, Alaska
Forward, Matt Rust, SR, Michigan
Defense, Torey Krug, SO, Michigan State
Defense, Chad Langlais, SR, Michigan
Goaltender, Pat Nagle, SR, Ferris State

Honorable Mention: Joe Sova, JR, D, Alaska; Greger Hanson, SR, F, Northern Michigan; Calle Ridderwall, SR, F, Notre Dame; Scott Greenham, JR, G, Alaska; Drew Palmisano, JR, G, Michigan State; Justin Florek, JR, F, Northern Michigan.

Photo courtesy Ferris State Athletics

No comments: