College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Thursday, March 08, 2012

MSU's Krug leads CCHA All-Conference First Team

CCHA Press Release

Both Miami junior forward Reilly Smith and Michigan State junior defenseman Torey Krug have been selected to the All-Conference First Team for the second straight season as announced today by the Central Collegiate Hockey Association.

Both Smith and Krug (pictured) were unanimous selections to the First Team, receiving ten first-place votes.

Smith led the league in goal-scoring with 18 goals in conference play and overall (26). Krug tied for the league lead in points with 29, making him the first defenseman to accomplish that feat since the 1986-87 season.

Ferris State senior defenseman Chad Billins, one of three Bulldogs on the two teams, earned nine first-place votes after finishing second in conference scoring among defensemen with 25 points and leading the Bulldogs to the CCHA regular-season title.

Northern Michigan forward Tyler Gron received seven first-place votes after a stellar senior campaign that saw him finish third in overall scoring with 36 points and fourth in league scoring with 27 points.

Billins’ teammate and fellow senior, goaltender Taylor Nelson, received six first-place votes on his way to a First-Team selection. Nelson is the second Bulldogs goalie in as many years to earn First-Team honors, following Pat Nagle in 2011. Nelson posted a 2.08 goals-against average and a .927 save percentage for the CCHA regular-season champions.

Notre Dame forward T.J. Tynan, who showed no signs of a sophomore slump following an outstanding rookie season that earned him Second-Team honors last year, rounds out the First Team after tying for the lead in points (29) in league action with Krug and leading the conference in overall scoring with 41 points.

Western Michigan junior defenseman Matt Tennyson, who scored five power-play goals among his 14 conference points, and Western Michigan sophomore defenseman Dan DeKeyser, who was +11 in league play, were named to the Second Team.

Northern Michigan senior forward Justin Florek was named to the Second Team after notching 27 conference points while providing a strong defensive presence.

Ferris State senior forward Jordie Johnston was second only to Billins in team scoring with 24 points in league play and was also selected for the Second Team.

Alaska standout sophomore Cody Kunyk made the Second Team after leading the Nanooks with 25 points.

Michigan senior goalie Shawn Hunwick was the final Second-Team selection after posting a 1.93 goals-against average and a .937 save percentage.

The teams were selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches and are based on performance in conference games. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Honorable Mention (next six point totals, regardless of position with first-team votes in parentheses): Connor Knapp, SR, G, Miami, (1) 23; Lee Moffie, JR, D, Michigan, (1) 17; Chris Brown, JR, F, Michigan, (1) 15; Kevin Kapalka, SO, G, Lake Superior State, (2) 13; Anders Lee, SO, F, Notre Dame, (1) 10; Kyle Follmer, JR, D, Northern Michigan, 10.

Others receiving votes: Forwards — Alex Guptill, FR, Michigan, 9; David Wohlberg, SR, Michigan, 9; Chase Balisy, SO, WMU, 8; Chris Wideman, SR, Miami, 8; Kyle Haines, SR, LSSU, 6; Zach Trotman, JR, LSSU, 6; Matt Kirzinger, JR, FSU, 5; Domenic Monardo, JR, LSSU, 5; Greg Pateryn, SR, Michigan, 5; Kyle Bonis, JR, FSU, 4; Shane Berschbach, SO, WMU, 4; Lee Reimer, SO, MSU, 4; Riley Sheahan, JR, ND, 4; Aaron Gens, SR, Alaska, 4; Austin Czarnik, FR, Miami, 3; Dane Walters, JR, WMU, 3; Brock Shelgren, SR, MSU, 3; Jared Coreau, SO, NMU, 3; Kyle Jean, SO, LSSU, 2; Brett Perlini, SR, MSU, 1; Scott Czarnowczan, SO, FSU; Andrew Hammond, JR, BG, 1; Cal Heeter, SR, OSU, 1.

Krug photo (GLI 2010) by Matt Mackinder/MiCHO

No comments: