Thursday, June 14, 2012

Spartans announce six more commitments

Michigan State Press Release 

Michigan State has announced that six more players have committed to play hockey at the university.

Two players have signed national letters of intent – forwards Mackenzie MacEachern (Troy) and Mike Ferrantino (Plymouth).

Defenseman Nickolas Gatt (Farmington Hills) will transfer from Alabama-Huntsville and has signed his Big Ten tender of financial aid. David Bondra (Annapolis, Md.), Brock Krygier (Novi) and Connor Wood (Bloomfield Hills) have all enrolled at MSU for the fall semester and will round out a class that as of June 14, sits at 11 newcomers for the 2012-13 season.

MacEachern, who recently completed his senior season at Brother Rice High School, has deferred admission to MSU and will enroll in the fall of 2013. He will play the upcoming season for the Chicago Steel of the United States Hockey League.

Bondra, Gatt, Ferrantino, Krygier and Wood will join six previous signees – forwards Matt DeBlouw (Chesterfield) and Ryan Keller (Farmington Hills), goaltender Jake Hildebrand (Butler, Penn.) and defensemen John Draeger (Fairibault, Minn.), Rhett Holland (Calgary, Alberta) and Travis Walsh (Lansing) on the Spartan roster for next season.

“We lost a large class last season, which included a lot of experienced players,” said MSU head coach Tom Anastos. “We are excited about this group as it has a nice blend of talent, leadership and toughness. As they gain experience, we look for these players to make big contributions to our program.”

More HERE.

No comments: