College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Saturday, April 15, 2006

Hunwick named U-M's captain at banquet

Michigan handed out its annual awards to six players while also announcing its captains for the 2006-07 campaign at the annual Dekers Blue Line Club Banquet on Saturday at the Ann Arbor Sheraton.

Head coach Red Berenson selected rising senior defenseman Matt Hunwick (pictured) as the captain for the 2006-07 season. Senior forward T.J. Hensick and senior defenseman Jason Dest will each wear an "A" as alternate captains. Hunwick and Hensick were alternate captains during the 2005-06 campaign.

Graduating senior captain Andrew Ebbett was awarded the Hal Downes Trophy as U-M's most valuable player. Ebbett ranked second on the team in points (42) and assists (28) while leading the Wolverines with a +16 plus/minus rating. Ebbett's 14 goals and 42 points were career highs.

For leading the Wolverines in points, Hensick was the recipient of the Doc Losh Trophy. The junior forward recorded 17 goals and a career-high 35 assists for 52 total points in 2005-06. Hensick earned All-CCHA second team honors. He also won the Doc Losh Trophy as a freshman in 2003-04.

Hunwick was the winner of the Vic Heyliger Trophy as U-M's most outstanding defenseman for the second consecutive season. The award was voted on by his teammates. Hunwick had an 11-19-30 scoring line and was +15 on the season. His 11 goals and 30 points were career highs, while his 19 assists tied his career best. He was an All-CCHA second team selection.

The Alton D. Simms Trophy for the most improved player as determined by the team was given to freshman forward Danny Fardig. Fardig, a walk-on whose father (Don) and uncle (Dave) both played for the Maize and Blue, played in 38 of 41 games and accumulated four goals and three assists.Fardig also garnered the Dekers Club Award as the "most colorful rookie" per the Dekers Club membership.

The Howard Colby Award for sportsmanship went to Ebbett. The senior was the consummate team player on and off the ice. He took just seven penalties for 25 minutes while being one of the hardest working players on the ice for U-M every game.

Chosen by the coaching staff, the Joseph E. Barss Award for the best team player was given to outgoing senior alternate captain Brandon Kaleniecki. Kaleniecki battled through injuries to play in 36 games, tallying 17 goals, which tied for the team lead, and nine power-play markers, a team best. He added a career-high 12 assists for 29 points in 2005-06.

Tim Cook was the recipient of the Carl Isaacson Award for the second straight year. The laurel is given to the player who exhibits the highest scholastic average as well as athletic ability. Cook is a junior majoring in history. The defensive-minded rearguard missed just one game all season and recorded his first career goal in addition to chipping in with two assists. Cook was also U-M's representative on the CCHA All-Academic team.

The Wolverines went 21-15-5 in 2005-06 while qualifying for their 16th consecutive NCAA Tournament. U-M graduates forwards Ebbett and Kaleniecki and goalie Noah Ruden. Twenty-three members of the 2005-06 team are slated to return in 2006-07.

No comments: