College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, December 29, 2008

Wolverines capture GLI championship

By Matt Mackinder/Managing Editor, MiCHO

DETROIT - The MacInnes Cup will stay in Ann Arbor.

With a convincing 5-1 win over Michigan State Sunday night, Michigan won their second straight Great Lakes Invitational at Joe Louis Arena.

And made it look pretty easy, too.

Goaltender Bryan Hogan made just 19 saves (after 15 in Saturday's win over Michigan Tech) and Louie Caporusso added his fourth goal of the GLI to pace the Wolverines' attack.

Caporusso was subsequently named the tournament MVP, but deflected attention elsewhere.

"Any time you get MVP it's a great feeling, but any of these guys could have got MVP, too," said Caporusso at the post-game press conference with defenseman Chris Summers and Hogan. "It's the championship that's more important and it feels great."

Summers chipped in three assists and Ben Winnett's goal 2:11 into the second period stood as the game-winner.

Matt Schepke staked the Spartans (5-12-3) to an early 1-0 lead with a 5-on-3 power-play goal at 12:28 of the first period, but that lead was erased when Travis Turnbull knotted the game at 16:18.

Brandon Naurato and Tim Miller scored less than three minutes apart in the second period and Caporusso's highlight-reel goal sealed it early in the final period.

“I thought that Michigan played very, very well,” said MSU coach Rick Comley. “Good team, good speed, worked hard. Once they got going, there was just nothing we could do. They played very well.”

Jeff Lerg made 49 saves for Michigan State and Comley said his play was "amazing, outstanding again."

“It’s not often you get one or two goals against Lerg," Michigan head coach Red Berenson said. "It was one of those nights when we got the puck behind him and we just built momentum.”

The Wolverines limited the Spartans to five total shots on goal in the final 40 minutes.

Michigan (13-7-0) hosts Miami Jan. 9-10, while MSU hosts Alaska this weekend.

Next year, RPI will round out the four-team GLI field. Boston University (2010), Boston College (2011) and St. Cloud State (2012) were also announced for future GLI tournaments.

The All-Tournament Team was comprised of forwards Louie Caporusso (UM), Matt Schepke (MSU) and Jordan Baker (Michigan Tech), Michigan defensemen Chris Summers and Chad Langlais and Wolverines goaltender Bryan Hogan.

Photo by Matt Mackinder

No comments: