College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Palushaj tops MiCHO's annual awards

The staff of has announced its annual award winners for the 2008-2009 season.

Winners were chosen from the seven men’s Division I teams – Ferris State University, Lake Superior State University, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Michigan Tech University, Northern Michigan University and Western Michigan University.

Michigan forward Aaron Palushaj, who recently signed an entry-level contract with the St. Louis Blues, was named the MiCHO Player of the Year after a 50-point output for the Wolverines and was also named to the All-MiCHO First Team.

Teammate David Wohlberg (pictured) was named MiCHO Rookie of the Year, while Northern Michigan had a trio of winners in head coach Walt Kyle (MiCHO Coach of the Year), Erik Gustafsson (MiCHO Defenseman of the Year) and Brian Stewart (MiCHO Goaltender of the Year).

The following is the complete awards listing:

MiCHO Player of the Year – Aaron Palushaj, Michigan
MiCHO Defenseman of the Year – Erik Gustafsson, Northern Michigan
MiCHO Goaltender of the Year – Brian Stewart, Northern Michigan
MiCHO Rookie of the Year – David Wohlberg, Michigan
MiCHO Coach of the Year – Walt Kyle, Northern Michigan

All-MiCHO First Team
F – Aaron Palushaj, Michigan
F – Louie Caporusso, Michigan
F – Patrick Galivan, Western Michigan
D – Erik Gustafsson, Northern Michigan
D – Jeff Petry, Michigan State
G – Brian Stewart, Northern Michigan

All-MiCHO Second Team
F – Mark Olver, Northern Michigan
F – Max Campbell, Western Michigan
F – Troy Schwab, Lake Superior State
D – Zach Redmond, Ferris State
D – Chris Summers, Michigan
G – Bryan Hogan, Michigan

All-MiCHO Third Team
F – Geoff Kinrade, Michigan Tech
F – David Wohlberg, Michigan
F – Jordan Baker, Michigan Tech
D – Tyler Ludwig, Western Michigan
D – Steven Kaunisto, Lake Superior State
G – Riley Gill, Western Michigan
G – Jeff Lerg, Michigan State

MiCHO All-Rookie Team
F – David Wohlberg, Michigan
F – Greg Squires, Western Michigan
F – Fred Cassiani, Lake Superior State
D – Brandon Burlon, Michigan
D – Kevin Connauton, Western Michigan
G – Drew Palmisano, Michigan State was started in 2001 and has been a primary source for college hockey fans in the state of Michigan for all the latest news and scores relating to all college teams in the state, including coverage of the state’s lone Division I women’s team at Wayne State University, ACHA teams and Division III teams.

Photo courtesy U-M Photo Services

No comments: