College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, March 08, 2010

Brown, Krug on CCHA All-Rookie Team

CCHA Press Release

For the first time since 1997 and second time ever, six different CCHA schools had one student-athlete named to the 2010 CCHA All-Rookie Team. This marks the 22nd year that the conference has named an all-rookie team. Fifteen freshmen garnered at least one vote.

Determined by a vote of the conference’s head coaches, the team will be honored at the 2010 CCHA Awards on Thursday, March 18, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.

F - Andy Taranto, Alaska Fairbanks
F - Terry Broadhurst, Nebraska-Omaha
F - Chris Brown, Michigan
D - Torey Krug, Michigan State
D - Joe Hartman, Miami
G - Mike Johnson, Notre Dame

Chris Brown, an 18-year-old forward from Flower Mound, Tex., finished second in CCHA scoring among rookies with 10-11-21. The Phoenix Coyotes draft pick tied for first overall in power-play goals (7) and led all freshmen with three game-winning goals, tied for fifth overall in the CCHA. Brown was named CCM CCHA Rookie of the Week once.

Torey Krug, an 18-year-old defenseman from Livonia, led all CCHA rookie rearguards with 16 points, finishing tied for eighth among all rookies and tied for fifth among all CCHA defensemen. Krug was named CCM CCHA Rookie of the Week once, CCM CCHA Rookie of the Month twice and National Rookie of the Month once.

Honorable mentions
Forward — Nik Yaremchuk, UA; Jordan Samuels-Thomas, BGSU; Curtis McKenzie, MIA; Derek Grant, MSU; Riley Sheahan, ND; DefenseZach Trotman, LSSU; Kyle Follmer, NMU; Devon Krogh, OSU; Goaltender — John Faulkner, UNO.

No comments: