College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

CCHA names top scholar-athletes

CCHA Press Release

Twelve outstanding student-athletes have been designated as their team’s 2009-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be chosen from the group of nominees with the winner announced at the 2010 CCHA Awards on Thursday, March 18.

2009-10 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees
Dion Knelsen, Sr., Forward, Alaska, Business-Administration
Kyle Page, Sr., Defenseman, Bowling Green, Sport Management
Aaron Lewicki, Sr., Forward, Ferris State, Finance
Rick Schofield, Jr., Forward, Lake Superior State, Business-Administration
Carter Camper, Jr., Forward, Miami, Psychology
Carl Hagelin, Jr., Forward, Michigan, Sport Management
Drew Palmisano, So., Goaltender, Michigan State, Pre-Business
Jeric Agosta, Sr., Forward, Nebraska-Omaha, General Studies
Reid Ellingson, So., Goaltender, Northern Michigan, Undeclared
Kevin Deeth, Sr., Forward, Notre Dame, Marketing
Chris Reed, Jr., Defenseman, Ohio State, Accounting
Tyler Ludwig, Sr., Defenseman, Western Michigan, Finance

The faculty athletic representative at each school, in consultation with the head coach, selected the institution’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Each school’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school’s nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to be eligible for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which is selected by the 12 faculty representatives. Voting is based on a system that awards five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.

No comments: