College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Miami a big winner at CCHA Awards

By Karl Henkel/At the CCHA Awards

Detroit –- The state of Michigan has three representatives in this weekend’s CCHA Tournament, but Thursday night Miami was the winner at the CCHA Awards Show at Fox Theatre.

The RedHawks took home the Coach of the Year, RBC Financial Group Player of the Year, Best Defensive Forward and Best Defensive Defenseman awards.

Enrico Blasi, who coached his team to a 23-game conference unbeaten streak, won the Coach of The Year Award for the fourth time in 11 seasons.

Cody Reichard, sophomore standout netminder, won the Player of the Year honor and the Best Goaltender Award. He posed a nation-best goals against average of 1.48 and did not lose a conference game all season.

Tommy Wingels won Best Defensive Forward for Miami, which allowed a league-best 39 goals. His teammate, Will Weber, won Best Defensive Defenseman.

In other awards, Northern Michigan defenseman Erik Gustafsson was named Best Offensive Defenseman for the second consecutive season, Alaska forward Andy Taranto won CCM Rookie of the Year, Alaska forward Dion Knelsen won both the Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Mike and Marian Illitch Humanitarian Award and Ferris State forward Aaron Lewicki won the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award.

Lewicki battles scoliosis, a congenial back condition, and watched as his mother succumbed to lupus during his sophomore season.

Northern Michigan forward Mark Olver earned Leading Scorer Award. Michigan State goaltender Drew Palmisano won the Perani Cup overall championship.

All-Conference First and Second Teams were also announced as were Scholar Athletes, the All-Rookie Team and Perani Cup School Winners, which are listed below.

CCM All-Rookie Team:
Terry Broadhurst, Nebraska-Omaha
Chris Brown, Michigan
Joe Hartman, Miami
Mike Johnson, Notre Dame
Torey Krug, Michigan State
Andy Taranto, Alaska*

Perani Cup School Winners:
Scott Greenham, Alaska
Tomas Petruska, Bowling Green
Blair Riley, Ferris State
Rick Schofield, Lake Superior State
Cody Reichard, Miami
Louie Caporusso, Michigan
Drew Palmisano, Michigan State*
Alex Hudson, Nebraska-Omaha
Brian Stewart, Northern Michigan
Mike Johnson, Notre Dame
Zac Dalpe, Ohio State
Riley Gill, Western Michigan

All-Conference First Team:
Zac Dalpe, Ohio State
Eddie DelGrosso, Nebraska-Omaha
Erik Gustafsson, Northern Michigan
Mark Olver, Northern Michigan
Jarod Palmer, Miami
Cody Reichard, Miami

All-Conference Second Team:
Andy Miele, Miami
Drew Palmisano, Michigan State
Jeff Petry, Michigan State
Zach Redmond, Ferris State
Tommy Wingels, Miami
Corey Tropp, Michigan State

Scholar Athletes:
Dion Knelsen, Alaska*
Kyle Page, Bowling Green
Aaron Lewicki, Ferris State
Rick Schofield, Lake Superior State
Carter Camper, Miami
Carl Hagelin, Michigan
Drew Palmisano, Michigan State
Jeric Agosta, Nebraska-Omaha
Reid Ellingson, Northern Michigan
Kevin Deeth, Notre Dame
Chris Reed, Ohio State
Tyler Ludwig, Western Michigan

* Overall Winner

No comments: