College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Friday, March 19, 2010

NMU's Olver a Hobey Baker finalist

Press Release

From the host city of the 2010 NCAA Frozen Four Tournament, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation on Thursday announced the top ten candidates for the 2010 Hobey Baker Award, honoring college hockey’s top player.

Alphabetically, they are: Bobby Butler, New Hampshire, Marc Cheverie, Denver, Blake Geoffrion, Wisconsin, Gustav Nyquist, Maine, Mark Olver, Northern Michigan, Chase Polacek, Rensselear, Rhett Rakhshani, Denver, Cody Reichard, Miami, Ben Scrivens, Cornell, and Brendan Smith, Wisconsin.

The ten finalists were selected by voting from all 58 Division I college hockey head coaches and by online fan balloting at Next, the 24-member Selection Committee and an additional round of fan balloting (at from March 19-28) will determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award include: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists will be announced on March 31, 2010 and the Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 9, 2010 from Ford Field in Detroit during the NCAA Frozen Four. The announcement will be aired live on ESPNU at 7:00 p.m. ET.

Mark Olver – Northern Michigan, Junior, Forward, Burnaby, B.C.
Feasting on CCHA opponents, Olver led the conference in points and was tied for first in goals while leading his Wildcats in scoring for the third straight year. Selected as a First Team CCHA all-star, Olver was also a finalist for Player of the Year. His play in February helped elevate the Wildcats from tenth to a fourth place league finish.
-- Has 19 goals and 28 assists for 47 points in 37 games – tied for 11th nationally
-- Physical Education/Coaching Major
-- Colorado Avalanche draft pick
-- CCHA Player of the Month in February

-- CCHA Player of the Week three times

No comments: