College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

MiCHO announces annual award winners

DETROIT – The staff of has announced its annual award winners for the 2010-2011 season.

Winners were chosen from the seven men’s Division I teams – Ferris State University, Lake Superior State University, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Michigan Tech University, Northern Michigan University and Western Michigan University.

Michigan took home three of the top honors as forward Carl Hagelin was named MiCHO Player of the Year after a 18-31-49 scoring line, freshman defenseman Jon Merrill earned Rookie of the Year honors after a dominant first season in Ann Arbor, and goalie Shawn Hunwick completed a Cinderella last half of his career at Michigan with a run to the 2011 national championship game and the MiCHO Goaltender of the Year award.

Torey Krug, Michigan State’s sophomore captain, won MiCHO Defenseman of the Year laurels and first-year Western Michigan head coach Jeff Blashill was the runaway winner of the MiCHO Coach of the Year award after leading the Broncos to the NCAA Tournament.

The following is the complete awards listing:

MiCHO Player of the Year – Carl Hagelin, Sr, F, Michigan
MiCHO Defenseman of the Year – Torey Krug, So, D, Michigan State
MiCHO Goaltender of the Year – Shawn Hunwick, Sr, G, Michigan
MiCHO Rookie of the Year – Jon Merrill, Fr, D, Michigan
MiCHO Coach of the Year – Jeff Blashill, Western Michigan

All-MiCHO First Team
F – Carl Hagelin, Sr, Michigan
F – Max Campbell, Sr, Western Michigan
F – Rick Schofield, Sr, Lake Superior State
D – Torey Krug, So, Michigan State
D – Jon Merrill, Fr, Michigan
G – Shawn Hunwick, Sr, Michigan
Coach – Jeff Blashill, Western Michigan

All-MiCHO Second Team
F – Louie Caporusso, Sr, Michigan
F – Tyler Gron, Jr, Northern Michigan
F – Chase Balisy, Fr, Western Michigan
D – Zach Redmond, Sr, Ferris State
D – Matt Tennyson, So, Western Michigan
G – Pat Nagle, Sr, Ferris State
Coach – Red Berenson, Michigan

Also receiving votes: F – Andrew Cherniwchan, Jr, Northern Michigan; Justin Florek, Jr, Northern Michigan; Milos Gordic, Fr, Michigan Tech; Derek Grant, So, Michigan State, D – Brandon Burlon, Jr, Michigan; Deron Cousens, Sr, Michigan Tech; Steven Seigo, So, Michigan Tech; Zach Trotman, So, Lake Superior State, G – Reid Ellingson, Jr, Northern Michigan; Kevin Kapalka, Fr, Lake Superior State

MiCHO All-Rookie Team
F – Chase Balisy, Western Michigan
F – Shane Berschbach, Western Michigan
F – Milos Gordic, Michigan Tech
D – Jon Merrill, Michigan
D – Dan DeKeyser, Western Michigan
G – Kevin Kapalka, Lake Superior State

Also receiving votes: F – Ryan Furne, Michigan Tech; Kyle Jean, Lake Superior State; Stephan Vigier, Northern Michigan, D – C.J. Ludwig, Northern Michigan was started in 2000 and has been a primary source for college hockey fans in the state of Michigan for all the latest news and scores relating to all college teams in the state, including coverage of the state’s lone Division I women’s team at Wayne State University, ACHA teams and Division III teams.

No comments: