College Hockey Scoreboard from CHN

Monday, September 28, 2009

CCHA changes points rules for '09-10

Compiled by MiCHO Staff

The Central Collegiate Hockey Association announced today that, effective at the start of conference play on Oct. 23, a regulation time or overtime victory will be worth three points in the league standings.

“We feel that this is a fairer system,” CCHA commissioner Tom Anastos said. “Now, all teams will have access to the same number of points throughout the regular season and every game is worth three points whether it is decided in regulation time, overtime or a shootout. We also feel this will give teams an added incentive to win a game in regulation time or overtime because they will gain the maximum number of points for doing so.”

This season, a regulation or sudden-death overtime win will earn a team three points in the standings, a shootout victory will garner two points, a shootout loss will be rewarded by one point, and a loss in regulation or overtime will mean no points. So, any game that goes to a shootout will see the victor credited with a tie and a shootout win in the conference standings, while the loser will receive credit for a tie.

This differs from the system utilized in 2008-09, where a regulation/overtime victory and a shootout win meant two points, a shootout loss gave a team one point, and a regulation/overtime loss was awarded no points.

This new system gives greater incentive to earn a victory in regulation or during the five-minute overtime period than winning in a shootout., but teams that perform well in shootouts will still have a clear advantage.

However, like last year, CCHA league games that are decided in a shootout will go down as a tie in the overall national rankings and have no bearing on a team’s Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) come NCAA Tournament time. Additionally, a shootout will again not be used to decide games during the CCHA Tournament, with the exception of the third-place game at Joe Louis Arena.

Last season, the shootout proved to be both exciting for the fans and pivotal in the CCHA standings. Spectators would often rise as one during a shootout, and goals and saves by the home team were often accompanied by the loudest cheers of the evening.

Regular-season champion Notre Dame was the only squad to go undefeated in shootouts, compiling a 3-0 record over the season. Three teams had shootout winning percentages of .750 or higher, with Notre Dame going undefeated and Michigan State and Ohio State both going 3-1 in the tiebreaker. Nebraska-Omaha was the most frequent shootout participant during the season, competing in a total of seven and accumulating a record of 3-4 in the tie-breakers.

The only squad not to go to a shootout during the season was Michigan, which did not even have one overtime game in 2008-09.

Certain players emerged as shootout stars as well. Ryan Hohl of Alaska, Pat Cannone of Miami, Kurt Kivisto and Matt Schepke of Michigan State, John Kemp and Alex Hudson of Nebraska-Omaha, Mark Olver and Erik Gustafsson of Northern Michigan, and Max Campbell of Western Michigan all shared the conference lead in shootout goals with three on the season. Of those players, only Campbell was a perfect 3-for-3 on shootout attempts.

No comments: